Home » SLBC Details » Convener

State Level Bankers' Committee (SLBC) -West Bengal

Convener - Punjab National Bank (w.e.f. 01.03.2021)

Details of Convener of SLBC, West Bengal

Convener Name Designation Mob No. Mail Id
Sri Nabin Kumar Dash Chief General Manager 8585022644 nabin.dash@pnb.co.in

Contact Details of SLBC, West Bengal

SLBC Address Landline No. Mail id
West Bengal United Tower, 8th Floor,
11, Hemanta Basu Sarani, Kolkata - 700001
033-2262-7365 / 033-2231-1716 slbc.westbengal@unitedbank.co.in

In terms of RBI circular / notification no. FIDD.CO.LBS.BC.No.22/02.01.001/2019-20 dated 30.03.2020 wherein it was mentioned that due to the amalgamation of United Bank of India with Punjab National Bank, the SLBC Convenorship for the State of West Bengal has been assigned to Punjab National Bank with effect from 01.04.2020.

United Bank of India (UBI) is one of the 14 major banks which were nationalized on July 19, 1969. Its predecessor the United Bank of India Ltd. was formed in 1950 with the amalgamation of four banks viz. Comilla Banking Corporation Ltd.(1914), Bengal Central Bank Ltd.(1918), Comilla Union Bank Ltd.(1922) and Hooghly Bank Ltd.(1932) (which were established in the years indicated in brackets after the names). The origin of the Bank thus goes back as far as 1914. As against 174 branches, Rs.147 crore of deposits and Rs.112 crore of advances at the time of nationalization in July,1969, today the Bank has 2057 CBS enabled branches and 2123 ATMs, over 1.97 lac crore of total business as on 31.03.2017. Presently the Bank has a three-tier organizational set up consisting of the Head Office, 36 Regional Offices and 2057 branches.

After nationalization, the Bank expanded its branch network in a big way and actively participated in the development activities, particularly in the rural and semi-urban areas in conformity with the objectives of nationalization. In recognition of the role played by the Bank, it was designated as Lead Bank in several districts and at present it is the Lead Bank in 43 districts in the States of West Bengal, Assam, Manipur and Tripura. The Bank is also the Convener of the State Level Bankers' Committee (SLBC) for the State of West Bengal and Tripura.

UBI played a significant role in the spread of banking services in different parts of the country, more particularly in Eastern and North-Eastern India. UBI has sponsored 4 Regional Rural Banks (RRB) one each in West Bengal, Assam, Manipur and Tripura. These four RRBs together have 1165 number of branches. United Bank of India has contributed 35% of the share capital/ additional capital to all the four RRBs in four different states. In its efforts to provide banking services to the people living in the not easily accessible areas of the Sunderbans in West Bengal, UBI had established two floating mobile branches on motor launches which moved from island to island on different days of the week. The floating mobile branches were discontinued with the opening of full-fledged branches at the centres which were being served by the floating mobile branches. UBI is also known as the 'Tea Bank' because of its age-old association with the financing of tea gardens. It has been the largest lender to the tea industry.

The Bank has three full fledged Overseas Branches one each at Kolkata, New Delhi and Mumbai with fully equipped dealing room and SWIFT terminal. The Bank has ATMs all over the country. The Bank has tie-up arrangement with WESTERN UNION to facilitate foreign currency transfers.

The name of the RRBs, the location of the Head Office and the name of the present Chairmen are given in the following table:

Sr. No. RRBs Location of RRBs Chairman
1. Bangiya Gramin Vikash Bank Berhampore, WB Shri Joseph Lawrence Tobias
2. Assam Gramin Vikash Bank Guwahati, Assam Shri Upendra Sabar
3. Tripura Gramin Bank Agartala, Tripura Shri Mahendra Mohan Goswami
4. Manipur Rural Bank Imphal, Manipur Shri Samarendu Samal